I am totally obsessed with the Gnarls Barkley album “St. Elsewhere.” After hearing the song “Crazy” on the radio I had to buy the cd because I loved it so much. I popped the cd in as I drove home from the store and had to keep driving so I could keep listening. I was hooked instantly. I have never fallen for a cd faster than I fell for this one. For me, music is the most important aspect of my life. I like most kinds of music, and even though a Mahler symphony is great music, this cd is, too. I’m not a snob about my music. If it is well made, interesting, and meaningful then it gets my endorsement.

Tonight I was in a different town teaching high school kids, and as I drove home I crossed the Mississippi River over a beautiful bridge just as the sunset was beginning to fade out. A rain storm had just blown through and half the sky was clouds and half darkening blue sky. It was one of the most beautiful sights I’ve seen in a long time. It was made more meaningful because I was listening to my new favorite cd. There is a line in the song “Crazy” that I especially like. “Even your emotions have an echo in so much space.”

What a great drive home…… much needed moment for me.