I just got home from playing a string quartet gig. I have played too many gigs to count since I started when I was in high school. I remember daydreaming while suffering through another crappy wedding gig back in the tiny town I grew up in. I was imagining when someday I would get to perform in glamorous settings for good money; playing with people I considered friends as well as colleagues. Well, tonight I realized that I have made it to that point. We were playing for a chamber of commerce event on the rooftop terrace of a swanky downtown hotel. The setting was ideal. It was pretty hot outside, but we were well shaded, had good comfortable chairs, and were being served bottles of expensive water while we played. The wait staff was very professional and someone even put out a table for us to display our business cards! There were flowers and ice sculptures everywhere. The people were beautiful and respectful. No drunken antics even though the alcohol was freely flowing. It makes me feel really good to see how far I have come from performing in a dusty country church on a dirt road for people who don’t know even appreciate the music we were playing to a fancy well put together event like the one tonight. And it can only get better from here.

With all that said, though, now my next gig will probably end up being in a country church!!! lol