I have been tagged by AmyElle

1. Go to the Billboard #1 Hits listings (scroll down and you’ll see them separated by decades on the left in the sidebar)
2. Pick the year you turned 18
3. Get yourself nostalgic over the songs of the year
4. Pick 5 songs and write something about how these songs affected you
5. Pass it on to 5 more friends

I turned 18 in 1995. Since I grew up in North Dakota we didn’t have top 40 radio, and my parents had MTV blocked after my mom heard them talking about oral sex on the Real World. That means that pretty much the only place I heard new music was by accident or several years after it was cool. I had to read through the entire list to come up with some songs that I actually recognized. lol

1. Cotten Eye Joe – Rednex. I remember my brother and our friends would sing along to this song and we couldn’t figure out what some of the words were so we just said “Get out the bitch for Cotten Eye Joe” instead of “If it hadn’t been for Cotten Eye Joe”. Personally I like Get out the bitch better.

2. New Age Girl – Dead Eye Dick. I saw Dead Eye Dick live from the front row at a show in the Magic Kingdom in Disney World my junior year of HS. This is the song with the line, “She don’t eat meat, but she sure like the bone.” At the show I was EXTREMELY sunburned because it was cloudy at the beach earlier that day and I didn’t reapply sunscreen….big mistake. You can still burn even if the sun isn’t out.

3. Kiss From A Rose – Seal. This song has an oboe in it. That was way cool to me. I actually remember this song more for a few years later when I used to have phone sex with the guy I ended up marrying. I’d put this CD in and have it on in the background while he talked dirty to me and made me cum for him over and over and over and… well you get the idea.

4. I Like It, I Love It – Tim McGraw. First of all let me say that I DO NOT LIKE COUNTRY MUSIC. It’s not all bad, but the country-pop garbage that people like Tim McGraw spew out makes me want to jam my ears shut with chewing gum. Well I remember this song because they always played it at school dances my senior year and the dance floor would completely clear except for the farm kids. hilarious.

5. You Oughta Know – Alanis Morissette. Yet another one I remember because I HATE ALANIS MORISSETTE. I worked as a telemarketer my junior and senior years and my supervisor would blast this song in her car on breaks while she chainsmoked cigarettes with the windows completely closed….weirdo.

Now, to tag five others:

Um, I don’t know five other people who keep blogs that are still around and not already tagged by AmyElle. The only one I can think of who I’d LOVE to see her answers is Mistress. I won’t be linking her here, but maybe she’ll see this. 🙂