Ok, so now I’ve actually sent my topic proposal off to my committee for approval. I have an outline finished and I think I know exactly how this project is going to be set up. I won’t start writing until I’m approved because I don’t want to waste time if it’s not approved. I will, however, continue to fine tune the outline and complete the trickiest part of all of this – actually learning the music well enough to write about it. Ok, not the trickiest cause learning music is just what I do, but the most time consuming. I have learned almost all of one of the four pieces I’m writing about, but this guy’s scribbles are hard to read. What is scaring me is the prospect of writing about this music in an intelligent and “scholarly” way. I can’t just say, “this song is pretty.”

My students are getting ready for their fall recital. It’s cute to see them get all nervous to play in front of people. I just want to scoop them up and take them home. I have started calling them my screechies. šŸ™‚

Hope everyone is having a good Friday.